Moo! Wrapper

Powered by BOINC

User of the day

User profile Profile [FT/ TL]ATA-Rolf
Blick auf die beiden Sternwarten hinter dem Schulgebäude Kronshagen bei Kiel (Juli 2005) © Mario Lehwald. Danke Mario für die Erlaubnis, dieses Bild...

News

Unscheduled downtime due to disk problems
There was an unscheduled downtime on 5th of July from about 13:00 EEST+3 (that's 10:00 UTC or 3:00 PDT-7) until about 1:30 EEST (22:30 UTC or 15:30 PDT) for a total of 12 hours 30 mins. There might have been problems with services for 2 hours or even longer before the start of downtime.

This was due to disk I/O failures on our main server that meant it had to be brought down for a disk check and temporary repairs. There was no critical data affected as the only file blocks permanently lost due to bad sectors were parts of log files. All other files were repaired successfully.

The affected disk will need to be replaced as it will most likely fail completely soon. This will require additional downtime in coming days.

For now, I'm bringing services back up slowly while the backlog gets processed.
5 Jul 2015, 23:29:31 UTC · Comment


New v1.4 apps for nVidia OpenCL and Android
More apps based on v1.4 of wrapper code are now available.

First there are Android apps with both non-PIE (for pre-4.1) and PIE (for 4.1 and later, especially 5) versions. Android apps are no longer in beta so everybody should get them but please report any problems at the new Android forum http://moowrap.net/forum_forum.php?id=27.

Secondly there's a new nVidia OpenCL app available for Windows. This brings the same level of support for nVidia GPUs that was previously available only for AMD GPUs. The Linux versions are on the list next and will be deployed soon.

Happy crunching!
24 May 2015, 1:12:04 UTC · Comment


New app v1.4 with OpenCL support deployed
Finally we have a newer application version that supports OpenCL! Updated versions of both AMD/ATI Stream and OpenCL apps for Windows have been offered by our server since yesterday to participants meeting requirements.

These apps require BOINC Client v7.2.28 or newer and Windows XP or newer. The Stream app is not available to AMD Radeon HD 7870/7950/7970/R9 280X series (Tahiti) or newer cards due to compatibility issues. OpenCL app is preferred for those cards.

The old app version is still available for systems running older BOINC Client. However, if your system has multiple GPUs, please consider updating it's BOINC Client to a support version. There are known issues running the old app on systems with multiple GPUs. New apps fix these by running one cruncher per device.

For detailed app change history, please read application changelog. For latest requirements enforced by our server, please read latest requirements.

Please report any problems you might encounter with new apps and our changes. Especially if you no longer get any work from our server where you previously did. You can report them by posting at our forum.

Happy crunching!
7 Sep 2014, 5:18:57 UTC · Comment


... more

News is available as an RSS feed   RSS




Copyright © 2011-2015 Moo! Wrapper Project